Halfway There

Halfway to Doctor Motorway Sign
Just passed this roadsign on my journey…

Halfway through another rotation and it all seems to be going well. We are now actually halfway through medical school  – at least from a time point of view and I’m surprised to feel that it’s gone so fast, although there is still a ton of continued learning for years to come. I certainly don’t feel as if I’ve travelled far enough along this journey or know enough to have reached the destination of half a foundation (F1) doctor. According to good old Wikipedia, I’m currently at the stage of “consciously incompetent“.

Although I’m confident using my stethoscope, it may be some time before I wield it with the same precision as Jedi consultants and can detach it from my neck without tangling it up in my ID badge neckstrap. It doesn’t inspire confidence in patients when your ID badge somehow ends up in their mashed potatoes.

I’ve met all kinds of patients with interesting jobs including a footballer, an athlete, an actor, an airline pilot, several doctors and even a professional clown. It has been pretty awesome.

Perhaps, my classmates and I are stressing too much about not knowing enough to be helpful and should just enjoy this stage where we can absorb and see a massive variety of specialties without being tied down to any of them – or be expected to carry out jobs or endure any huge responsibilities yet.

The “Medical Student” ID badge (when freed of potato) grants us “Access to All Areas” in the hospital and observe pretty much anything we’re interested in. Clinics and operating theatres may need prior arrangement but by asking nicely, I’ve often been able to show up ad-hoc even to these and watch procedures, get a bit of teaching and see conditions that we’d only previously read about in textbooks.

So we are not VIPs, but we do have backstage passes. Roll on the next 2.5 years – if all goes well.

9 thoughts on “Halfway There

    1. Hi hcrazy! From your great blog, I can see that you are really organised and that’s half the challenge! So I’m sure you’ll get there. Tips? Remember all the clinical stuff from years 1 and 2 so when consultants ask you unexpected questions you’ll be ready with shiny impressive answers!

  1. “Perhaps, my classmates and I are stressing too much about not knowing enough to be helpful and should just enjoy this stage where we can absorb and see a massive variety of specialties without being tied down to any of them – or be expected to carry out jobs or endure any huge responsibilities yet.”

    Amen. Very enlightening and true.

    Enjoy the learning process as much as possible. It can be difficult when we are “consciously incompetent.”

  2. Congratulations on the landmark. I’ve been a lurking reader and appreciate the passion you bring. Let me assure you, it just gets better from here. All the best for the days ahead. Hope to read more stuff from you!

    Cheerios! Sent from Mailbox for iPhone

  3. Great blog, and nice to hear from a fellow latecomer. I was 33 when I began med school and am an F1 now. It’s totally worth it! Look forward to hearing more of your experiences

What do you think?

