Clinicals Here I Come

In years 1 – 2 we achieved most of our learning through lectures with regular but occasional placements in hospitals plus sessions with GPs (family doctors). 3rd year means starting the clinical part of our medical education where we’ll be members of a “firm” in teaching hospitals and seeing patients full time. I love patient interaction so this is an exciting transition and is the stage of medical school that I’ve been really looking forward to. I still have to kind of pinch myself to prove that it’s happening!

Part of me is guarded about what being in a clinical firm will be like as an extra mature student. Traditionally, age correlates with seniority and students are the youngest in the firm but in my case, there’s a good chance I’ll be older than even the consultant. Until now it hasn’t been an issue and In a lecture hall I’m just another face (albeit a wrinkly one) in a large crowd. A clinical firm is a small team so I’ll stick out. How will I be perceived? Could I be mistaken for a qualified doctor or even as an old fraudster impersonating a medical student?

I’m also wondering whether I’ll be able to answer the questions that consultants and registrars will throw at me. Do they really humiliate their students and juniors? I’ve learned an amazing amount since starting medical school but I feel that I’ve forgotten a lot too. My classmates have voiced similar concerns and we’ve been told: “It’s in there somewhere and comes rushing back when you need it” – Well I hope so as I’m going to need it all very soon and I don’t feel anything rushing about up there.

6 thoughts on “Clinicals Here I Come

  1. Exciting times for you, i’m about to enter year 2 and as a mature med student myself, I also wonder how I will be perceived in clinics. Look forward to hearing how you get on.

What do you think?

