The Old One

Me: “I’m sorry, I’ve forgotten your name”
Classmate: “Oh don’t worry, I remember yours because you’re the old one”

At the start of term I wondered how I’d be accepted but despite being twice the age of most of my classmates, I do feel part of the class. I guess it helps that I make an effort to talk to everyone and it doesn’t phase me that technically I could be the same age as some of their parents. Gosh, banish that thought!

About 20% of my cohort are graduates. Some came straight from university whilst others worked for several years after graduation. It’s these lovely people who I usually hang around with although the non-grads are really nice too. Some of the grads are only a few years older than the 18 year olds but it seems that the few years spent independently makes a lot of difference to behaviour, confidence and maturity levels although I’m sure that will even itself out quite quickly.

So I think I fit in OK!  Even if I didn’t, I’m too old to let it worry me now!

4 thoughts on “The Old One

  1. Just discovered your blog through newmediamedicine. I look forward to reading more, I’m applying for 2013 entry, and am 36 so it’s really reassuring to read the thoughts of another old one!

    1. Hi Natasha! Thanks for the comment. I’ll do my best to provide an impression of what it’s like for a super oldie. It’s fantastic that you are applying for med school. I worried about the age thing a lot and pulled out all the stops when applying so if you need any info feel free to give me a shout. I really hope you are successful so that we can share experiences! Best of luck for 2013 entry! Have you got your Personal Statement…etc sorted out yet? I hope you totally smash it!

  2. Hi, thanks for the feedback, will be really interested in everything you have to say! I love learning, but going back to university and becoming a full time student with all the kids is very daunting!

    Just done UKCAT, and trying to start building up personal statement. First up, though, is my CV – I’m sending out feelers to my favourite choices to check before applying that they’ll even consider me 🙂

    1. Don’t worry about being back in university with kids, they’re all super nice and there have been only rare moments when I’ve felt a little out of place. Hope things are going well with your application!?

What do you think?

