Medical School Here I Come

So I’m in!!

Amazingly, I was fortunate enough to receive three offers;  two unconditional plus one conditional offer of a B in AS-Biology. So all that effort at evening school to learn the basic sciences paid off. Plus I didn’t give up my job for nothing. Phew, what a relief! Cup of tea now please.

Yesterday was the day the A-level exam results came out. I’d already accepted my place several months ago but I can identify with everyone else who got in. It’s an amazing feeling. Well done guys!

The first time I did A-levels was 20 years ago! 20 years ago!  I didn’t do Chemistry or Biology and as a graduate I’m eligible to some schools but the number of medical schools I could apply to were significantly reduced. There are colleges offering Chemistry and Biology A-levels at evening classes so to improve my chances, off I went to night school, completing each in one year on an intensive course. Tough while working at the same time but doable if you’re motivated.

After getting in, my next thoughts were “What have you done? Will you really manage financially? You’ve given up your great job!” At my age, I had to and did think it through carefully but you spend so much time and effort and concentrate so fully on the application process, it’s easy to lose sight of everything else.

2 thoughts on “Medical School Here I Come

  1. Fantastic well done, I think anyone should do what their heart is set on rather than avoiding out of fear for the “what-if’s” And getting in is such an accomplishment with the major competition and difficulty of doing so.

    1. Thanks Ruthbug for the encouragement! It’s a tough course but so interesting and motivating. Good luck with getting in too. I found a great quote on Nontraditional Medical Student

      “I am going to be 45 regardless, so I can either be 45 and be a doctor, or I can be 45 and be something else”

      When are you applying?”

What do you think?

